UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021

Filed in Internships, Jobs by on June 6, 2021 0 Comments

Table of Contents

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021

Call For Opportunity to apply UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021. Like every year, UNESCO rewards six individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning. This year the projects and programs are requested to reflect the theme ‘Inclusive distance and digital literacy learning’.
The theme highlights innovative practices that literacy promoters have been initiating as a way to ensuring the continuity of literacy learning during the COVID-19 crisis. By finding solutions for continuing literacy learning for even the most vulnerable populations has made a difference during a critical time, where face-to-face teaching and learning is restricted. In line with the UNESCO Strategy for Youth and Adult Literacy, the focus is, but not limited to, literacy learning in a lifelong learning perspective. Throughout the pandemic, distance learning has shown many faces and been supported by high-, low- and no tech solutions as well as hybrid learning that combined face-to-face learning.

About the 2021 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to six laureates in total:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programs that promote mother language-based literacy development.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programs that promote literacy, including functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.



  • Each UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
  • Each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.


  • Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who promote literacy through projects and programs are welcome to apply.
  • National Commissions and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are encouraged to nominate individuals, institutions and organizations who are making outstanding contributions to promoting literacy and who request a nomination.

Selection Criteria

  • Relevance to the themes
  • Relevance to individuals and societal needs and robustness
  • Quality of teaching and learning
  • Impact
  • Innovative features
  • Sustainability

All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the program, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO.

  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities: June 13, 2021 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: June 27, 2021 (midnight, Paris time).

For more information, visit official UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021.

Tags: , ,

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »