SUA Admission Requirements For Postgraduate Diploma 2022/2023

Filed in Education by on July 8, 2022 0 Comments

SUA Admission Requirements For Postgraduate Diploma 2022/2023,Sokoine University of Agriculture 2022/23 Postigraduate Diploma Requirements

Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) is a public university in Morogoro, Tanzania, specializing in agriculture. The university is named after the country’s second prime minister Edward Sokoine.

Sokoine University of Agriculture was established on 1 July 1984 by Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984. Currently the University operates under the Universities Act No. 7 of 2005 and SUA Charter and Rules of 2007.

Sokoine University History

The university traces its roots back to 1965 in Morogoro, where it initially began as an agriculture college offering diploma training in agricultural practices. After the dissolution of the East African Community in 1970, the University of East Africa, which was the only university in East Africa offering agriculture degrees in the region, was also dissolved.


This led the Government of Tanzania to create a domestic institution, which led to the establishment of the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Dar es Salaam. Sokoine Agriculture College fell under this umbrella and under the mandate of the University of Dar es Salaam, started to offer Bachelors of Science in Agriculture.[3]

Further progress continued to develop in the Faculty of Agriculture; in 1974 the Division of Forestry was established and in 1976 the division of veterinary science was established. This led to the faculty’s renaming to the “Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Sciences”.

With growing enrollment numbers, the parliament decided to separate the faculty and create a fully fledged university to help boost agriculture growth in the country.[4][5] Through Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984, the faculty was then transformed into a university and today is known as Sokoine University of Agriculture.

Other Posts


SUA 2022/2023 Campuses

The University has five campuses namely, Edward Moringe Campus (2,376 ha) and Solomon Mahlangu Campus (1,050 ha) both in Morogoro, Olmotonyi Campus (840 ha) in Arusha, Mazumbai Campus (320 ha) in Tanga Region, Mizengo Pinda Campus in Katavi Region (64 ha) and Tunduru Campus (509 ha) in Ruvuma Region. In addition, SUA has sites for students’ field practice in Mbinga, Ruvuma Region; Mgeta (Nyandira), Morning side and Kitulanghalo Forest in Morogoro Region.

SUA has four mandates: Training, Research, Consultancy and Outreach. SUA offers training that lead to awards of certificates, diplomas, bachelors, masters, and doctorates. Non-degree programmes include Diploma in Information and Library Science, Diploma in Records, Archives and Information Management, Diploma in Animal Health and Production, Diploma in Laboratory Technology and Diploma in Information Technology.

The Sokoine National Agricultural Library is SUA’s Library and the Tanzania National Agricultural Library. The library provides services to the university community and other stakeholders in the agricultural and related sectors.

[Program Qualification]

Name: Postgraduate Diploma in Agricultural Economics] [Programme Code: MSc1 ]


Name: Postgraduate Diploma in Education] [Programme Code: PGDE ]


Name: Postgraduate Diploma in Monitoring and Evaluation] [Programme Code: PME ]


Other Related Contents

; ">

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.