SUA 2022/2023 Admission Requirements for Certificate Courses

Filed in Education by on July 4, 2022 0 Comments

SUA 2022/2023 Admission Requirements for Certificate Courses

Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) is a public agricultural university in Morogoro, Tanzania. The institution is named after Edward Sokoine, the country’s second prime minister.

Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984 created Sokoine University of Agriculture on July 1, 1984. The University is now governed by the Universities Act No. 7 of 2005, as well as the SUA Charter and Rules of 2007.

The university first opened its doors in Morogoro in 1965 as an agriculture college, providing diploma instruction in agricultural methods. Following the breakup of the East African Community in 1970, the Institution of East Africa, which was the region’s sole university granting agricultural degrees, was abolished as well. As a result, the Tanzanian government decided to establish a local institution, the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Dar es Salaam. Sokoine Agriculture College was established under this umbrella and began offering Bachelors of Science in Agriculture under the auspices of the University of Dar es Salaam.

The Faculty of Agriculture continued to flourish; in 1974, the Division of Forestry was founded, and in 1976, the Division of Veterinary Science was established. The faculty was renamed “Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Sciences” as a result of this. With rising enrolment, the parliament opted to split the faculty and establish a fully fledged university to aid the country’s agricultural development. [4] [5] The faculty was eventually turned into a university by Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984, and is currently known as Sokoine University of Agriculture.

Other Related Contents




Edward Moringe Campus (2,376 ha) and Solomon Mahlangu Campus (1,050 ha) both in Morogoro, Olmotonyi Campus (840 ha) in Arusha, Mazumbai Campus (320 ha) in Tanga Region, Mizengo Pinda Campus (64 ha) in Katavi Region, and Tunduru Campus (509 ha) in Ruvuma Region are the University’s five campuses. SUA also offers field practice areas in Mbinga, Ruvuma Region; Mgeta (Nyandira), Morning side; and Kitulanghalo Forest, Morogoro Region.

Training, Research, Consultancy, and Outreach are the four missions of SUA. SUA provides certifications, diplomas, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees as well as other types of instruction. Diplomas in information and library science, records, archives, and information management, diplomas in animal health and production, diplomas in laboratory technology, and diplomas in information technology are all non-degree programs.

SUA’s library and the Tanzania National Agricultural Library are located in Sokoine, Tanzania. The library serves the university community as well as other agricultural and associated industry partners.

[Program Qualification]

Name: Certificate In Information Technology] [Programme Code: CIT ]
O-level passes in at least four subjects
Name: Cert. in Tour Guiding and Hunting Operations] [Programme Code: CTGHO ]

Other Posts


; ">

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.