List of universities and colleges in Tanzania 2022/2023

Filed in Education, Jobs, Tips by on July 10, 2022 0 Comments

List of universities and colleges in Tanzania 2022/2023,43 Universities in Tanzania, Colleges Found in Tanzania,How Many Universities in Tanzania,Tanzania Universities 2022/2023,Vyuo vilivyopo Tanzania 2022/2023,Vyuo Vikuu Tanzania 2022/2023,Vyuo vya Tanzania, Tanzania Universities List,Top Universities in Tanzania 2022/2023


A university (from Latin universitas ‘a whole’) is an institution of higher (or tertiary) education and research which awards academic degrees in several academic disciplines. Universities typically offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

List of universities and colleges in Tanzania 2022/2023

The word university is derived from the Latin universitas magistrorum et scholarium, which roughly means “community of teachers and scholars”.

The first universities were created in Europe by Catholic Church monks. The University of Bologna (Università di Bologna), founded in 1088, is the first university in the sense of:

  • Being a high degree-awarding institute.
  • Having independence from the ecclesiastic schools, although conducted by both clergy and non-clergy.
  • Using the word universitas (which was coined at its foundation).
  • Issuing secular and non-secular degrees: grammar, rhetoric, logic, theology, canon law, notarial law

Public universities

Reg. No.-  Institution Acronym – Founded  -University status- Former name(s) – Region
001 University of Dar es Salaam UDSM 1961 1970 University College, Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam
002 University of Dodoma UDOM 2007 2007 – Dodoma
003 The Open University of Tanzania OUT 1992 1992 – Dar es Salaam
004 Institute of Accountancy Arusha IAA – – – Arusha
004 Ardhi University AU 1956 2007 Ardhi Institute and UCLAS Dar es Salaam
010 State University of Zanzibar SUZA 1999 1999 – Zanzibar Urban
011 Mzumbe University MU 1975 2001 Institute of Development Management Morogoro
014 Sokoine University of Agriculture SUA 1984 – Morogoro
015 Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences MUHAS 1963 2007 Dar es Salaam School of Medicine and MUCHS Dar es Salaam
016 Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology NM–AIST 2009 2010 – Arusha
025 Katavi University of Agriculture KUA – Katavi
026 Mbeya University of Science and Technology MUST 1986 2012/13 Mbeya Technical College and MIST Mbeya
027 Moshi Co-operative University MoCU 1963 2014 Moshi university college of cooperative and business studies(MUCCOBS) Kilimanjaro


Private universities 2022/2023

Reg. No. Institution Acronym Founded Affiliation Former name(s) Region
005 Hubert Kairuki Memorial University HKMU 1997 MMHEN Mikocheni International University Dar es Salaam
006 International Medical and Technological University IMTU 1997 VEF – Dar es Salaam
007 Tumaini University Makumira TUMA 1997 Lutheran Lutheran Theological College Makumira Arusha
008 St. Augustine University of Tanzania SAUT 2002 Catholic Nyegezi Social Training Institute Mwanza
009 Zanzibar University ZU 2002 Islamic – Zanzibar Urban
012 Mount Meru University MMU 2005 Baptist International Baptist Theological Seminary of Eastern Africa Arusha
013 University of Arusha UoA 2006 Seventh-day Adventist Tanzania Adventist College Arusha
014 Teofilo Kisanji University TEKU 2007 Moravian – Mbeya
017 Muslim University of Morogoro MUM 2004 Islamic – Morogoro
018 St. John’s University of Tanzania SJUT 2007 Anglican – Dodoma
020 University of Bagamoyo UB 2010 TANLET and LHRC – Dar es Salaam
021 Eckernforde Tanga University ETU 2010 – Tanga
022 Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences CUHAS 1994 Catholic – Mwanza
023 St. Joseph University In Tanzania SJUIT 2011 Catholic – Dar es Salaam
024 United African University of Tanzania UAUT 2012 Korea Church Mission – Dar es Salaam
027 Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University SEKOMU 2012 Lutheran Sebastian Kolowa University College Tanga
028 Tanzania International University TIU – Dar es Salaam
030 University of Iringa UoI 1994 Lutheran Tumaini University Iringa

Public university colleges 2022/2023

Reg. No. Institution Acronym Founded Region
001 University College of Education Zanzibar –  UCEZ – 1999 Zanzibar Urban
002 Dar es Salaam University College of Education-  DUCE  – 2005 Dar es Salaam
003 Moshi University College of Cooperative and Business Studies –  MUCCOBS – 2003 Kilimanjaro
004 Mkwawa University College of Education MUCE 2003 Iringa
005 Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy MNMA 1961/2005 Dar es Salaam


Private university colleges 2022/2023

Reg. No. –  Institution – Acronym – Founded – Region
005 Kampala International University Dar es Salaam –  College – KIU-DAR – 2008  – Dar es Salaam
006 Mwenge University College of Education – MWUCE – 2003 –  Kilimanjaro
007 Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College KCMCo 2003 Kilimanjaro
008 Ruaha Catholic University RUCU 2006 Iringa
009 St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences SFUCHAS 2010 Morogoro
010 St. Joseph University College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology SJUCAST 2000 Ruvuma
011 St. Joseph University College of Information and Technology SJUCIT 2000 Ruvuma
012 St. Joseph University College of Management and Commerce SJUCMC 2000 Njombe
013 Stefano Moshi Memorial University College SMMUCO 2002 Kilimanjaro
016 Stella Maris Mtwara University College STEMMUCO 2009 Mtwara
015 Tumaini University Dar es Salaam College TUDARCO 2005 Dar es Salaam
039 Al-Maktoum College of Engineering and Technology AMCET 2010 Dar es Salaam

Which is the Biggest University in Tanzania?

University of Dar Es Salaam Dar Es Salaam University is the largest university in Tanzania, ranking 1917 in the world.

As of 2020, there was a total of 47 universities in Tanzania, with the majority being private tertiary education institutions.
Tanzania boasts of over 40 institutions of higher education. International students have a broad range of choice in programs and courses that they would want to pursue when they study in Tanzania.
In 2014, the Government of Tanzania introduced a fee-free education policy, making pre-primary and primary education free, and Secondary School form 1 to Form Six is Free, waiving all registration and exam fees that parents had to pay in the past and posed a significant financial barrier. Today, the primary school boasts 7,124 pupils.

; ">

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.