Group F AFCON Qualifiers 2023 (Fixture,Results and Standings)

Filed in Sports by on June 8, 2022 0 Comments

Group F AFCON Qualifiers 2023 (Fixture,Results and Standings), AFCON Qualifiers 2023 Group F Fixture,AFCON Qualifiers 2023 Group F Results, Ratiba,Msimamo,AFCON Qualifiers 2023 Group F Table Standings

The Africa Cup of Nations, often known as AFCON (French: Coupe d’Afrique des Nations, or TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations for sponsorship reasons), and sometimes simply African Cup of Nations, is Africa’s premier international men’s association football championship. It was first conducted in 1957 and is sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). It has been conducted every two years since 1968, with the odd-numbered years beginning in 2013.


Group F AFCON Qualifiers 2023 (Fixture,Results and Standings)


Group F







Only Egypt, Sudan, and Ethiopia competed in the inaugural event, which took place in 1957. South Africa was supposed to attend, but was disqualified owing to the government’s apartheid policy at the time. Since then, the event has grown significantly, necessitating the holding of a qualifying competition.


The number of teams competing in the final tournament increased to 16 in 1998 (16 teams were scheduled to compete in 1996, but Nigeria withdrew, reducing the field to 15, and the same thing happened with Togo’s withdrawal in 2010), and the format remained unchanged until 2017, with the 16 teams divided into four groups of four teams each, with the top two teams from each group advancing to a “knock-out” stage.


The Africa Cup of Nations was shifted from January to June on July 20, 2017, and the number of teams was increased from 16 to 24.

Egypt has won the event seven times, making it the most successful country in the competition’s history.

During the event’s history, three trophies have been given, with Ghana and Cameroon earning the first two editions to retain after each of them won the competition three times. The current trophy was presented for the first time in 2002. Egypt won three championships in a row for the first time in 2006, 2008, and 2010.

The tournament format was changed in 2013 to be conducted in odd-numbered years in order to avoid clashing with the FIFA World Cup. Senegal is the current winner of the competition, having defeated Egypt on penalties in the 2021 final.


Credit : CAF TV

; ">

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.